China’s Chang’e 6 Probe Lands on Far Side of the Moon | Technology & Science

China’s Chang’e 6 Probe Lands on Far Side of the Moon.

The Chang’e 6 mission is China’s second to touch down on the lunar far side and will retrieve samples for analysis on Earth.

A Long March 5 rocket, carrying the Chang’e-6 mission lunar probe, lifts off as it rains at the Wenchang Space Launch Centre in southern China’s Hainan Province on May 3, 2024.

China has landed on the moon’s mysterious far side — again.

The robotic Chang’e 6 mission touched down inside Apollo Crater, within the giant South Pole-Aitken basin, at 6:23 a.m. Beijing Time on Sunday (June 2) , according to Chinese space officials. It was 6:23 p.m. EDT (2223 GMT) on June 1 at the time of the landing. The probe “successfully landed in the pre-selected area,” China’s space agency said.

The China National Space Administration (CNSA) now has two far-side landings under its belt — this one and Chang’e 4, which dropped a lander-rover combo onto the gray…

Source www.scientificamerican.com

Advertisement Gaming:   Xbox  |  Xbox Bundles  |  Nintendo  |  Playstation  |  Cards   |   Manor Lords   |   Horizon Forbidden West
FTC: We use income earning affiliate links. More on Sposored links.
Terms of use and third-party services. More here.

Ad Amazon Minecraft the game, plus clothing, toys, and accessories.

Ad Amazon Gaming Laptops, clothing, games and more

Ad Amazon MUSIC Artists Merch Shop

Stay connected throughout the year with official, ongoing Microsoft podcasts.
Microsoft Podcasts Apple | Microsoft podcasts YouTube


Related Posts