Google will start deleting location history | Malware

Google announced that it will reduce the amount of personal data it is storing by automatically deleting old data from “Timeline”—the feature that, previously named “Location History,” tracks user routes and trips based on a phone’s location, allowing people to revisit all the places they’ve been in the past.

In an email, Google told users that they will have until December 1, 2024 to save all travels to their mobile devices before the company starts deleting old data. If you use this feature, that means you have about five months before losing your location history.

Moving forward, Google will link the Location information to the devices you use, rather than to the user account(s). And, instead of backing up your data to the cloud, Google will soon start to store it locally on the device.

As I pointed out years ago, Location History allowed me to “spy” on my wife’s whereabouts without having to install anything on her phone. After some digging, I…

Source www.malwarebytes.com

Advertisement Gaming:   Xbox  |  Xbox Bundles  |  Nintendo  |  Playstation  |  Cards   |   Manor Lords   |   Horizon Forbidden West
FTC: We use income earning affiliate links. More on Sposored links.
Terms of use and third-party services. More here.

Ad Amazon Minecraft the game, plus clothing, toys, and accessories.

Ad Amazon Gaming Laptops, clothing, games and more

Ad Amazon MUSIC Artists Merch Shop

Stay connected throughout the year with official, ongoing Microsoft podcasts.
Microsoft Podcasts Apple | Microsoft podcasts YouTube


Related Posts